Reset Chrome settings to default

You can restore your browser settings in Chrome at any time. You might need to do this if apps or extensions you installed changed your settings without your knowledge. Your saved bookmarks and passwords won't be cleared or changed.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More More and then Settings.
  3. At the bottom, click Advanced.
    • Chromebook, Linux, and Mac: Under "Reset Settings," click Restore settings to their original defaults and then Reset Settings.
    • Windows: Under "Reset and cleanup,” click Reset Settings and then Reset Settings.

These steps won't provide a full reset. For example, some settings like fonts or accessibility won't be deleted. To create a new user profile, add a new user in Chrome.

What changes when you restore your settings 

On your Chrome profile, the following settings will change to the default on all devices where you're signed in: